The Trumbull Police Department, created in 1941 through an act of the State Legislature, is under the jurisdiction of a six-member Board of Police Commissioners appointed by the First Selectman. Commission members are appointed for a three-year term and serve without pay. Using the power granted to them under the statutes, they appoint new members to the police force, set policy, supervise the annual budget, and act as the traffic authority for the town.

Chief of Police Michael Lombardo, working under the direction of the Police Commission, administers and controls the department to preserve peace and public order for the town, through investigation of crimes and enforcement of laws and ordinances. He is in charge of the management of all records, the direction of all police personnel, and the assignment of duties for the efficient operation of the department.

Currently, the department consists of authorized sworn personnel of eighty-two and ten civilian personnel. These civilian personnel provide clerical and maintenance, and technical support to the operation of the police department. The Animal Control Officer is also under the authority of the Police Department.

Chief Lombardo's command staff consists of Assistant Chief Glenn Byrnes and Captain Anthony Lopes.