Newbery Medal Reading Contest

The Newbery Medal, named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery, is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Celebrate its centennial by reading as many Newbery Medal Award Winners as you can! Receive a prize entry form for every book you read. The person who reads the most books wins! Two additional winners will be randomly selected from all of the entries. The three winners will each receive a Newbery Medal tote bag filled with goodies, including a copy of the 2022 winner (to be announced in January 2022).


  1. This contest is open to children ages 8-13.
  2. Books must be read between September 1, 2021 and February 28, 2022. No entries will be accepted after March 1, 2022.
  3. Receive a prize entry form for every book you read. Newbery Medal Award Winners are the only eligible books. Newbery Honor books and other award books do not count. Visit our online catalog to see which Newbery Winners are checked in.
  4. Each prize entry form requires your name, age, phone number, the title of the book, the year it won, and a brief book review.
  5. Winners will be contacted in early March 2022.

Questions? Email Miss Elise at

newbery centennial